Tian’anmen Rostrum

Tian’anmen RostrumTian’anmen or the Gate of Heavenly Peace is a symbol of new China. It is located in the center of Beijing and stands on the northern end of the Tian’anmen Square. It was first built in 1420 and of the Tian’anmen Square. It was first built in 1420 and was originally called the Gate of Heavenly Succession ( Chengtlianmen), which served as the main entrance to the former Imperial City.  At the end of the Ming dynasty in 1644, it was seriously damaged in a war.  When it was rebuilt in 1651 in the Qing dynasty, the name was changed co Tian’anmen.

The gate has five passages.  During the Ming and Qing dynasties, the passage in the middle was especially reserved for the emperor himself. The emperor went through the central passage on the way to the Alters and Temples for ritual and some other sacrificial activities, as well as the expedition to the battles in person.

During the Ming and the Qing dynasties, Tian’anmen was the place where he important state ceremonies for issuing the imperial edict took place, such as: the emperor’s enthronement, conferring the le honorable title on the empress or tor the crown prince, dispatching generals on an expedition to the battle. The most famous “Imperial Edict Issued by Golden Phoenix” was held in the tower.

Tian’anmen consists of two parts: the body of the gate and the tower on the top. It used to be 33. 7  meters high ,  but after being renovated in0,today it stands at 34. 7 meters high with glistering yellow glazed tiles on the roof, It was on this gate tower that our late Chairman Mao Zedong proclaimed to the whole wd  the founding of the People’s Republic of China on Con October 1st 1949, Sin.Since then Tian’anmen has been the symbol of New China.  That is probably why, even today, Chairman Mao’s portrait is still hung above the central entrance. The portrait is 6 meters high, 4. 6 meters wide, and weights about l. 5 tons. There are two slogans on each side, one is :  “Long Live the People’s Republic of China” ,  the other. One is: “ Long Live the Great Unity of the Peoples of the World”. In the middle, between the double eaves, is the National Emblem, which is composed of Tian’anmen, the National flag with five stars, a mechanical gear, stalks of wheat and rice and red ribbons. Tian’anmen Rostrum was opened to the public on January lst 1988 for the first time in its history for the first Year of Tourism, and that was also the Year of the Dragon.

On the west side of Tiananmen stands Zhongshan Park, formerly called Altar of Land and Grain ( Shejitan).  It was built in 1420 for offering sacrificial items to the Land God. The name was changed to Zhongshan Park in 1928 in memory of Dr. Sun-yat-sen, the great pioneer of the Chinese Democratic Revolution. On the east side is the Working People’s Cultural Palace that used to be the Supreme Ancestral Temple ( Taimiao) ,  where the tablets of the deceased dynastic rulers were kept. During the Ming and Qing dynasties, the rooms in front of the Gate of Tian’anmen were offices of the imperial administration while the two rows of rooms on both sides behind the Gate of Tian’anmen were antechambers for the civil and military officials waiting for the imperial audience given by the emperor.  Today, they are temporary exhibition rooms, souvenir shops and offices for the guards of honor for the National Flag.

Leave Us Your Message

  • Please fill in the relevant information and click the "Submit" button. Your private tour operator will get back to you by email within 24 hours. For urgent booking, please call us at +86-10-85893819, or mobile phone +86-13910972927.