Beijing Medical University

Beijing Medical University (College), one of the oldest medical schools in China, was founded in 1912, when it was named the Capital Medical School. Later it was merged with other schools of liberal arts and sciences to form Beijing University. Before liberation, there were only three departments: the Department of Medicine with a small-sized hospital of 134 beds; the Department of Dentistry and the Department of Pharmacy. .More than 1,000 students graduated over a period of nearly 40 years, and many of them are now well-known scientists and professors across the country.

In 1952, it became an independent college and rapidly grew into one of the leading medical colleges in China. At present, there are five departments: Basic Medical Science, Medicine, Public Health, Oral Medicine and Pharmacy, and a senior nurse school. Students come from all parts of the country and are well selected. In the last 4decades after liberation, more than 16,000 graduates have left the college to serve in health care centres of different levels. The teaching staff now consists of 470 professors and associate professors, 950 lecturers and attending doctors as well as 700 assistants, as against 138teachers and doctors before 1950. There are nearly 2,500 students, including 90 from foreign countries, mostly from the third world, as well as 550 postgraduates. To meet the needs of medical care and the training of medical and health personnel, the college has established 4affiliated hospitals (2,000 beds) and one teaching hospital (600 beds) ,covering all major medical services.

A. The Centre:
Under the leadership of the Party Committee, the president exercises overall control of the college’s activities. He is assisted by 6 vice-presidents in charge of various activities, such as medical education, research, medical care and administration.
A scientific council has been established, with 64 members including outstanding scientists and representatives of different departments of the college. Concurrently, the president of the college is the chair-man of the council. The task of the council covers:

1. Studying the long-term and annual plans of scientific research, teaching and training programmes as well as development of the college.
2. Development of the faculty staff.
3. Evaluating the results of important scientific research and the-sis.
4. Commenting on and approving of the promotion of professional staff.
5. Directing the scientific exchange programme with foreign and domestic institutions.

B. Administrative Departments:

1. Office of the President
2. Office of the Dean and Department of Education
3. Department of Research4. Department of Medical Care
5. Office of Foreign Relations6. Department of Personnel
7. Department of Planning and Financing
8. Department of Supplies.

C. Affiliated and Teaching Hospitals:
1. The First Affiliated Hospital
2. People’s Hospital
3. The Third Affiliated Hospital
4. Hospital for Oral Medicine and Surgery
5. Jishuitan Hospital (Teaching Hospital)
D. Nurse school (including class for laboratory technicians)


A. Medical Education
1. Department of Basic Medical Science: 6-year curriculum
2. Department of Medicine: 6-year curriculum.
3. Department of Public Health: 6-year curriculum
4. Department of Oral Medicine: 6-year curriculum
5. Department of Pharmacy: 5-year curriculum

B. Postgraduate Education and Training:

1. Postgraduate Education.
Beijing Medical College has resumed postgraduate fellowship programme since 1978. At present, 250 research fellows have been en-rolled. The period of training varies from 2 to 4 years. Usually a 1 to 2-year course is conducted. But the fellows may also spend another 2years under the guidance of experienced preceptors to research on a special subject singly or in combination with clinical work and at the end a thesis is to be presented.

2. Postgraduate Training
More than 400 doctors and teachers from other institutions take postgraduate training for 1 to 2 years in the college or affiliated hospitals, both in practical medical care or teaching in respective departments.

C. Nurse School
Junior or senior middle school graduates are trained for two to three years in nurse schools or other medical technical schools so as to provide nurses or technical personnel for college hospitals.

Every year the college undertakes considerable amount of medical research proposed by different levels of the governments in the country. Long-term research programmes and annual plan of implementation have been drawn up. Eleven research institutes and 5 research laboratories have been established under the direct supervision of the college.

A. Research Institutes:
1. Institute of Basic Medical Science
2. Institute of Environmental Medicine.
3. Institute of Clinical Pharmacology
4. Institute of Clinical Medicine
5. Institute of Sports Medicine
6. Institute of Pharmacy
7. Institute of Oral Medicine
8. Institute of Hematology
9. Institute of Urology
10. Institute of Psychiatry and Medical Hygiene
ll. Institute of Cancer Research

B. Research Laboratories:
1, Laboratory of Occupational Diseases
2, Laboratory of Diseases of Digestive Tract
3, Laboratory of Liver Diseases
4, Laboratory of Surgical Oncology
5, Laboratory of Plastic Surgery

Health and Medical Care
The four affiliated hospitals contain more than 2,000 beds (First Affiliated Hospital 956 beds, People’s Hospital 430 beds, Third Affiliated Hospital 625 beds and Hospital for Oral Medicine and Surgery 50beds.) They all have in patient and out-patient departments. More than 2 million out-patients and emergency cases are handled and 30,000 patients discharged each year. Medical care is the main work. We also have teaching and research programmes.

Leave Us Your Message

  • Please fill in the relevant information and click the "Submit" button. Your private tour operator will get back to you by email within 24 hours. For urgent booking, please call us at +86-10-85893819, or mobile phone +86-13910972927.